Club Oval – Crossover Dance Battle

Club Oval
(c) René Löffler
Dates

von TanzZeit e.V.

Spielort: wird noch bekanntgegeben

Club Oval is an event format that brings different dance styles together. Launched in 2013 by TanzZeit as an anti-commercial and anti-elite event, Club Oval has since become a fixture on the Berlin dance scene. It is both a forum for international dance artists of different genres and a gathering place for a predominantly young, dance-loving audience.

Dancers compete against once another over several rounds on an oval dance floor. The fusion of styles is unique in its sheer breadth: swing, krump, contemporary dance, twerking, ballet, African dance, hip hop, vogueing, tango and more all have their moment.

The idea of a battle comes from urban dance, but here’s it’s seen as more of a playful incentive. As the teams performing the different dance styles and the solo artists have to improvise to the music played by the DJ – funk, classical, hip hop and more – they come up with surprising new ideas and inspiration for moves.

The evening’s winners in the categories of Team, Solo and Duet are chosen by a jury of experts. The audience decides the winners of the solo performances. During the breaks, they can get down on the dance floor themselves.

 

 

(c) René Löffler

(c) René Löffler

(c) René Löffler

(c) René Löffler

Artistic Director: An Boekman
Presenter: Jessica Jorgas
Organisation & Social Media: Lydia Thiele

Subscribe to our newsletter to find out the dates of the event as soon as they come out.

Club Oval takes place as part of Wildes Palais in Podewil, in conjunction with Kulturprojekte Berlin.

Club Oval – Crossover Dance Battle

Club Oval
(c) René Löffler
Termine

von TanzZeit e.V.

Spielort: wird noch bekanntgegeben

Der Club Oval ist ein Event-Format, das vielfältige Tanzstile zusammenbringt. Im Jahr 2013 von TanzZeit als anti-kommerzielle und anti-elitäre Veranstaltung initiiert, hat sich der Club Oval mittlerweile fest in der Berliner Tanzszene etabliert. Er ist sowohl Forum für internationale Tanzkünstler*innen verschiedener Genres als auch Treffpunkt für ein vor allem junges, tanzbegeistertes Publikum.

Auf einer ovalen Tanzfläche treten Tänzer*innen in mehreren Runden gegeneinander an. Die Fusion aller Stile ist in ihrer Bandbreite dabei einzigartig: Swing, Krump, zeitgenössischer Tanz, Twerking, Ballett, afrikanischer Tanz, Hip-Hop, Vogueing, Tango u.v.m.

Der Battle-Gedanke entstammt dem Urban Dance und ist hier eher als spielerischer Motivationsmotor zu verstehen. Da die Teams der unterschiedlichen Tanzrichtungen und die Solo-Künstler*innen zu vom DJ vorgegebener Musik improvisieren – Funk, Klassik, Hip-Hop und mehr – entstehen überraschende neue Bewegungsideen und Inspirationen.

Die Gewinner*innen des Abends in den Kategorien Team / Solo / Duett werden durch eine hochkarätige Jury gewählt. Das Publikum entscheidet über die Gewinner*innen der Solodarbietungen und ist in den Pausen eingeladen, selbst zu tanzen.

 

Club Oval

(c) René Löffler

Club Oval

(c) René Löffler

Club Oval

(c) René Löffler

Club Oval

(c) René Löffler

Künstlerische Leitung: An Boekman
Moderation: Jessica Jorgas
Organisation & Social Media: Lydia Thiele

 

Termine für den Herbst 2020 stehen noch nicht fest. Abonnieren Sie unseren Newsletter, um rechtzeitig über die Daten der Veranstaltung informiert zu werden.

 

Der Club Oval findet im Rahmen des Wilden Palais im Podewil statt in Kooperation mit Kulturprojekte Berlin.